The Twelve Forms of the Sun – VARUNA Watercolor Painting

Roseville, Minnesota, United States's flagUnited States; For Sale, Art, collectibles

68 days ago

$ 101.25

The Twelve Forms of the Sun-Surya – VARUNA Watercolor Painting

In our Shastras, it has been mentioned that there are twelve forms of the Sun known as Adityas and they represent the twelve months in the calendar and twelve aspects of the Golden Deity Sun. As they are 12 in counting, they are referred to as Dvadashadityas. Adityas are basically the monthly Suns which is an ancient word for earth-moon barycentre for a lunar month. In the Rigveda, the Adityas are the sons of Aditi, and Varuna is the first among them who is a Demigod associated with sky initially. He is the son of Kashyap (One of seven ancient sages).